Language Roadmap Working Groups

Participants in the 2018 Wisconsin Language Summit

Drawing on the insights and ideas shared at the 2018 Wisconsin Language Summit, four Working Groups of Wisconsin leaders from different sectors drafted recommendations for Wisconsin’s Language Roadmap, a strategic plan that outlines strategic goals, core recommendations, and action steps to address Wisconsin’s workforce and community language needs. All Wisconsinites were invited to review and comment on a first draft recommendations in Spring 2018. The final set of recommendations were published in The Wisconsin Language Roadmap: Investing in Language Education for a World-Ready Wisconsin in December 2018.

The four action areas and Working Group members were as follows (co-chairs are in bold):

Sustainable Language Program Development, Access, and Accountability

Pam Delfosse, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
Lauren Rosen, University of Wisconsin Collaborative Language Program
Claudine Clark, Madison East High School
Hala Ghoneim,  University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
Felecia Lucht, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Mike Oemichen, H.O. Bostrom Co., Inc.
Jen Pino-Gallagher, M3 Insurance
Robin Rivas, Racine Unified School District
Cathy Stafford, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Rosa Tapia, Lawrence University
Brian Wopat, Onalaska High School and Wisconsin Association for Language Teachers

Student Success and Equity

Marie Moeller, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
Lynn Neitzel, Blackhawk Technical College
Ayla Annac, InvivoSciences, Inc.
Joshua Brown, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
Joseph Halaas, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Laura Koebel, Plymouth High School
Joshua LeGreve, Green Lake Schools and Wisconsin Association for Language Teachers
Audrey Lesondak, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
Erin Nienas, Neenah High  School
David O’Connor, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
Kevin Schleicher, Organic Valley/CROPP Cooperative
Megan Strom, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse and Immigration Taskforce

Language Educator Recruitment, Preparation, Retention, and Effectiveness

Tobias Barske, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
SuAnn Schroeder, Medford Area Senior High & Wisconsin Association for Language Teachers
Anita Alkhas, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Carolyn Brady, University of Wisconsin-River Falls
Donna Clementi, Lawrence University
Jenna Cushing-Leubner, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
Rob Howell, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Tatiana Joseph, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Leah Lechleiter-Luke, School District of Mauston
Ellen Onsrud, Lake Mills Middle & High Schools

Collaborative Leadership, Engagement, and Advocacy for Language Education

Dianna Murphy, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Katy Sinnott,  Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation
Andrea Behn, Parker High School
Geoff Bradshaw, Madison Area Technical College
Carmel Capati, Wisconsin Supreme Court
Teresa Carranza, Madison Metropolitan School District
David Coury,  University of Wisconsin-Green Bay
Karen Fowdy, Wisconsin Association for Language Teachers
Linda Havas, Greendale Middle School
Janet Rowe, Wisconsin Virtual School
Paul Sandrock, American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages
Douglas Savage, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Jian-Guo Sun, Milwaukee International School
Mark Tyler, OEM Fabricators, Inc.